The former VC of the University of Utkal, Dr. Trilochan Pradhan, has passed away


Bhubaneswar: Former Vice Chancellor of Utkal University and Padma Bhushan Prize winner Dr. Trilochan Pradhan passed away on Saturday. He was 93.

Pradhan was born on January 3, 1929 in Ghanashalia Village, Nayagarh District. In 1945 he joined Revenshaw College and received his B.Sc. with physics award. He then moved to the BHU in 1949, where he obtained his M.Sc. In 1951 he joined Revenshaw College as a faculty member. In 1953 he went for his Ph.D. to the University of Chicago, USA.

In 1962 he joined the Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata as Associate Professor in Theoretical Nuclear Physics Division. He later became Professor and Head of the Theory Division, and remained in that position until 1974 when he joined the newly formed Institute of Physics. Bhubaneswar as founding director.

During his tenure, the institute was founded in 1985 by the Dept. of Atomic Energy as a funded institute (similar to TIFR and SINP). In January 1989 he left the institute. He then was Vice Chancellor of the University of Utkal from 1989 to 1991.

Prof. Pradhan has written two books. The first, entitled “The Photon,” was published by Nova Science Publishers, New York, while the second book, entitled “Quantum Mechanics,” was published by University Press, Hyderabad. He has also edited a book based on the proceedings of the Symposium on Current Trends in Physics held at the Institute in 1986 and published by World Scientific Singapore. Prof. Pradhan has chaired many committees charged with the academic evaluation of a number of academic institutions and has proposed a roadmap for their excellence.

Prof. Pradhan’s contribution to scientific research and the establishment of the institute is well recognized in the country. In 1974 he became a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Science in Bangalore. In 1980 he received the Meghnad Saha Award for Theoretical Sciences, which was hosted by Hari Om Ashram (UGC). of India awarded him Padma Bhushan. He also received the Kalinga Samman Award in 2014 and the Kalinga Ratna Award in 2018.


Comments are closed.